Presented by the Australia and New Zealand Intensive Care Society (ANZICS), this award is part of the Global Rising Star Programme where three recipients are chosen every year to present an overview of their past and on-going research activities during a symposium in Australia. One of the recipients was Dr. Rashan Haniffa, who based his presentation on research conducted by NICST. The topic was ‘Winning the long game; building sustainable critical care ecosystems in Low and Middle Income Countries’.

The Intensive Care Foundation Research Gold Medal is awarded annually by the Intensive Care Society to a new investigator who has shown excellence in science relevant to intensive care practice so that their work is more widely appreciated. This was awarded for the presentation on the ‘Methodology for evaluating outcomes for critically unwell patients’.


The World Summit Award is a global initiative which aims to select and promote the world’s best digital content and innovative applications by awarding e-Content that contributes to a knowledge-based society. It is then promoted at a global congress.


This token of recognition is awarded to:

Dr Rashan Haniffa

for yeoman services rendered
in uplifting critical care serviced in the island
through his leading role in the establishment of the
first ever web based patient registry
and bed availability system in Sri Lanka,
recognized as the first of its’ kind
in the developing world.

Director General of Health Services
Ministry of Health
Sri Lanka


National Intensive Care Surveillance (NICS), the branch of NICST responsible for the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) registry and bed reporting system, won the Manthan e-health award for its ‘Innovative public health e-intervention from Sri Lanka for the developing world in critical care medicine’. The Manthan Award is an annual award for South Asia given in recognition of exceptional digital content creation.

The e-Swabhimani e-Health and Environment Award was presented to NICS for its ICU registry and bed availability system. The e-Swabhimani Award is a national one which aims to stimulate a greater interest in the development of a wide range of content and services that would serve the needs of society. The Juror’s voted NICS as a winner as such a locally developed system based on a low cost, sustainable and locally integrated model is unique for a lower-middle income country like Sri Lanka.

NICS was awarded second prize for its oral presentation of ‘Implementing a critical care registry in a LMIC’ at the Stop, Collaborate and Listen. This was sponsored by the Periop Research, the London Deanery, and the Royal College of Anaesthetists.